Where Do Vegans Get Their Protein & Nutrients?

After updating my ND on my diet she expressed concern for my protein intake, instead of laughing at her I asked her how much she recommends for me. She got out the calculator, asked my weight, and gave me a number: 63 grams.

I pulled out my Cron-O-Meter App to show her yesterday’s intake: 63 grams exactly! This is a simple day without any beans, nuts or seeds!

J9CronoProtein

Why is it that no one seemed concerned (except for my parents) when my diet consisted mostly of  bread, peanut butter, cereal, chicken fingers, fries, grilled cheese, tomato soup, pepperoni pizza (hold the vegetables!), soda, chocolate, chips, candy and ice cream?

When people find out I’m vegan they are suddenly concerned for my health and well being (apparently). While we’re on the topic, let me show you my nutrients from that same day.

Nutrients

The only supplements I take regularly are: B12 (once per week), Vitamin D and occasionally probiotics. If I was concerned about my selenium I could easy fix that with a few brazil nuts a day.  Sources of Vegan Vitamin E: sunflower seeds, raw wheat germ, nuts, peanuts, green leafy vegetables, whole wheat flour, whole grains, spinach. Personally I avoid gluten because of Hashimoto’s and I don’t eat many nuts. So potentially I could also supplement with Vitamin E.

Just for fun, I inputted a typical day of what I used to eat, on  a Standard American Diet (SAD).  The nutrients actually didn’t look all that bad — likely because of eating fortified foods such as dairy milk and store bought bread. I wonder if those nutrients were easily absorbed though? The calories were roughly the same but the fat and sodium was through the roof!  When I ate that way I never felt good.

I have never loved eating healthy so much as I do now because what I eat tastes so f_ _ing good. I feel better than I ever have in my life and I’ve lost weight! I eat way more calories than recommended for my height, age and activity level (like 1000 calories more than recommended). How many people with Hashimoto’s (hypothyroidism) can say that?

Leave a Reply

