Social Media Cleanse: Day 1

So I didn’t end up crying in the fetal position. I didn’t end up crying at all.  I did however think about looking over my husband’s shoulder to see if anything was going on in the Facebook world. I may have contemplated getting on his computer to see if anyone commented on my posts.

When we woke up this morning I automatically picked up my iPhone anticipating a social media fix. I sighed as I remembered what I did last night. So I checked my email which was equally disappointing. Nothing but a couple of newsletters. I felt a little empty.

While folding laundry the dogs did something really cute and my first impulse was to think about how it was a Snapchat moment, forgetting for a moment about my cleanse. I considered taking an “old fashioned” digital photo but then I sighed and thought ‘what is the point if there’s no one to share it with?’.

Many share worthy moments happened today but I had no reason to whip out my phone to take a photo or video because I had no one to share it with. No outlet for sharing. But something happened during one of these moments. I decided to just enjoy the moment.  My thinking started to shift a little.

Why ruin a moment by stopping to record it.  It’s like we’re trying to stop time to capture a moment.  Because otherwise it didn’t happen right?

Something else happened today: I  spent time organizing files on my computer for the first time in a long time.  I did dishes for something to do, not because I was in a rush to get them done. I made Banana Bites before dinner. I’ve never baked something before dinner.  On Sunday’s I’m usually frantically trying to get dinner made after realizing the day just flew by.

Conclusion: day one was a good day. I did miss social media. I still miss it. I want to know what everyone is up to. I want to know if anyone replied to my latest post. Hello? Is anyone out there?


I’m not a writer. I’m a thinker. Sometimes my thoughts take over the keyboard and they might not always make sense. With that said, thank you so much for taking the time to read my ramblings.

~Jeannine

Leave a Reply

