Vegan with Hashimoto’s

What amazes me is that I’m able to lose weight and feel great on this lifestyle regardless of my abnormally high TSH of 5.5 – normally my TSH is under 2.  In the past whenever my TSH crept above 3 I had major hypothyroid symptoms: depression, dry skin, very low energy, etc.

Many of my peers with Hashimoto’s/Hypothyroidism are on a Paleo diet as they think it’s the only way they can lose weight. They’ll say: “just looking at carbs makes me fat!”.  Of course it does! Your body is in starvation mode! You’ve eliminated the most important energy source that fuels your muscles and brain cells (carbohydrates/glucose). In fact you are starving your body of what it needs. It’s only natural that your body would want to hold on to it for dear life the next time you consume carbs!  The weight gain you may experience from reintroducing carbs is only temporary. No need to panic.

I personally would much rather have some temporary weight gain as a small sacrifice for long term benefits. Since switching to a high carb low fat whole foods plant based diet I have experienced:

  • increased energy
  • ability to eat a high amount of calories without gaining weight
  • desire to exercise
  • stable mood & happier disposition
  • increased passion for animals and the planet
  • the need to REDUCE my thyroid medications (which is why I’m temporarily hypothyroid as my body adjusts to new dosage)
  • increased lean mass

If you aren’t eating a plant based diet already, what is stopping you? Help me help you, ask me anything. If you are embarrassed to ask publicly you can always ask anonymously on my Tumblr page.

Watch this one minute video of what I eat in a day for inspiration. If you’d like to see more be sure to subscribe to my channel on YouTube and of course your likes/dislikes and comments are always appreciated!

6 thoughts on “Vegan with Hashimoto’s

  1. I had started getting migraines at 8yo old. They basically diagnosed all my thyroid symptoms as a child as mental anxiety/depression. I’ve had stage 3 cancer an about 4 abdominal surgeries. The doctors asked me to keep a migraine journal as an adult and I recently went to the ER and practically begged for a TSH test,which they weren’t going to give me, it was close to being over 5. I just now got diagnosed with hypothyroid. I appreciate your transparency an I’m grateful for you. Thank you

    Like

    • Wow, what a horrible way to live.. to think all these years they could have helped you if they tested your thyroid! I don’t understand why it’s not a routine thing to test the TSH, such a basic test and just as important as any other routine blood test. I’m so sorry you had to go through all that. If you have any questions along the way feel free to ask.

      Like

Leave a Reply

