My 260lb “Secret”

IMG_9001.jpg

I shared this photo on Instagram the other day and I was quite taken back by how many people who’ve I’ve gotten to know over the years on Social Media that don’t know my story!  It got me thinking… why don’t I talk about this more? I think part of it is because I feel like my weight loss story is too messy and imperfect. And I still have a ways to go.

Honestly sometimes I really do forget how much I’ve changed. Plus I feel like my story doesn’t count because I didn’t lose all the weight in one go.  Some of it was pre Vegan and some of it post Vegan.  I even yo yo’d a little as a Vegan, leaving many people wondering why I’m not already slim. I guess I just wish I had one of those perfect weight loss stories: “Woman Loses 80lbs in 1 year Doing _____ Diet!”.

I’m 41, I have Hashimoto’s Hypothyroidism and one of my thyroid nodules is possibly cancerous. For now I feel it’s safe, the nodule is doing it’s job and keeping the cancer contained. The only option presented to me so far is to remove my thyroid and do a full biopsy. No thanks, I like the rest of my thyroid.

I’m 41 and feeling 1000 times better than I did in my early 30’s.

My 6 year Veganniversary is coming up on May 20th! It’s only been in the last couple of years that I have (slowly) learned that processed foods, vegan or not, make me feel worse. I’ve learned this lesson over and over – I’m sure some of you can relate! It’s like burning my hand on a hot stove over and over!

I’m currently on a “potato cleanse” – not really a cleanse per say but I’m learning so much about true hunger, satiety, emotional cravings, stress cravings, hormone cravings. I ate only potatoes for one month, then added in veggies. More recently I’ve adding in a little fruit here and there if I feel like it.

Here’s the amazing thing: I couldn’t stomach most vegetables unless hidden in a recipe with loads of sauce. But even then, I hated broccoli no matter how hidden it was. After 28 days of eating only potatoes, I’m able to stomach my most hated vegetables: broccoli, brussels sprouts and asparagus!

If you want to follow along my story and cheer me on in finally becoming a “skinny bitch” you can find me here: https://www.youtube.com/c/bananawisdom

Leave a Reply

